Brighton NY
Greece NY
Henrietta NY
Irondequoit NY
Penfield NY
Perinton NY
Rochester NY
Webster NY



Monroe County, New York

Monroe County is a county in the western portion of the state of New York, in the United States. The county is along Lake Ontario's southern shore. As of 2017, Monroe County's population was 747,642.[1] Its county seat is the city of Rochester.[2] The county is named after James Monroe, the fifth President of the United States.[3] Monroe County is part of the Rochester, NY Metropolitan Statistical Area.

When counties were established in the Province of New York in 1683, the present Monroe County was part of Albany County. This was an enormous county, including the northern part of New York State as well as all of the present State of Vermont and, in theory, extending westward to the Pacific Ocean. This county was reduced in size on July 3, 1766 by the creation of Cumberland County, and further on March 16, 1770 by the creation of Gloucester County, both containing territory now in Vermont.