Rome NY
Utica NY



Oneida County, New York

Oneida County is a county located in the state of New York, in the United States. As of the 2010 census, the population was 234,878.[1] The county seat is Utica.[2] The name is in honor of the Oneida, one of the Five Nations of the Iroquois League or Haudenosaunee, which had long occupied this territory at the time of European encounter and colonization. The federally recognized Oneida Indian Nation has had a reservation in the region since the late 18th century, after the American Revolutionary War.

When England established colonial counties in the Province of New York in 1683, the territory of present Oneida County was included in a very large, mostly undeveloped Albany County. This county included the northern part of present-day New York State as well as all of the present state of Vermont and, in theory, extended westward to the Pacific Ocean. This county was reduced in size on July 3, 1766 to create Cumberland County, and further on March 16, 1770 by the creation of Gloucester County, both containing territory now in Vermont.